Old Testament

The Old Testament in the Bible is a collection of 39 books, written in Hebrew and Aramaic, between 1446 B.C. and 425 B.C. They were then translated into a Greek manuscript called the Septuagint between the second and third centuries B.C. Jesus referred to the Hebrew manuscripts as the Law, the Prophets, and Psalms, which is part of the Hebrew manuscripts called the Writings. The Greek translation was used by the Apostles in the first century to help them in their writings of the New Testament. The Christian church compiled the Hebrew manuscripts and added them to the Bible to form the Old Testament. (Luke 16:16; Matthew 5:17; Luke 24:44)

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.